In a big boost to the NPP barely three weeks ahead of the assembly polls, as many as 8 BJP MLAs including 2 ministers of the Pema Khandu cabinet formally joined the party in Itanagar on Tuesday evening.

The BJP leaders were formally inducted into the party by senior NPP leader Thomas Sangma. Apart from the 8 sitting MLAs, 18 other aspirants also joined the NPP.

Making the official announcement on the inductions, senior NPP leader Sangma said the party is looking to contest 35-40 seats in the ensuing assembly elections in the state ruling out any pre-poll alliance. Sangma said the aim of the party was to form the government on its own.

The sitting MLAs who joined the party are Home Minister Kumar Waii, state tourism minister Jarkar Gamlin, sitting MLAs Tapuk Taku, Kardo Nyigyor, Pani Taram, Paknga Bage, Thangwang Wangham and Wangling Lowandong.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.